chrystia-freeland_westmountmag

Chrystia Freeland : le Canada
dans un monde en changement

La ministre des affaires étrangères du Canada s’adresse à l’auditoire du CORIM

Par Jean-Luc Burlone

Devant une salle de 450 personnes conquises d’avance, la ministre Chrystia Freeland était à la hauteur de sa réputation. Dans un français très acceptable elle a fait un tour d’horizon des principaux enjeux qu’elle nous recommande de considérer afin de maintenir le système multilatéral, qui a si bien servi le monde depuis 70 ans.

Chrystia Freeland - WestmountMag.ca

Elle résume superficiellement ces enjeux en les classant en deux catégories, soit la menace que la résurgence de l’autoritarisme fait peser sur la démocratie libérale et l’affaiblissement de l’ordre international fondé sur des règles.

Concernant l’autoritarisme, Mme Freeland remarque la monté de mouvements anti-démocratiques qui cherchent à miner les démocraties libérales en blâmant les immigrants et les partenaires commerciaux. Elle nomme la technologie et la mondialisation comme les causes qui ont occasionné l’appauvrissement de la classe moyenne, ce qui rend cette dernière sensible aux arguments des démagogues.

Quant à la question de l’ordre international, Mme Freeland suggère d’appliquer des règles qui ont du mordant dans les ententes commerciales comme l’ont fait le Canada et l’Europe, dans leur récent accord et comme devrait en prendre note l’Organisation du commerce mondial qui tarde à se mettre au diapason de 2018.

… elle a fait un tour d’horizon des principaux enjeux qu’elle nous recommande de considérer afin de maintenir le système multilatéral, qui a si bien servi le monde depuis 70 ans.

Il faut rappeler que le défunt Partenariat TransPacific, comme sa nouvelle mouture dont les États-Unis ne font pas partie, a des clauses ou des règles strictes qui protègent l’environnement, les unions, les travailleurs, la liberté de l’internet, etc.

Rien de nouveau dans ce survol de la ministre, une simplification bien répandue, qui néglige de rappeler que parmi les dernière 70 années, 50 était la guerre froide où l’Ouest démontrait que son régime démocratique apportait un bien être supérieur à la population. Un combat d’idéologies qui s’est estompé après la chute du mur de Berlin et qui s’est transformé – n’ayant plus d’ennemi idéologique – en une ruée vers l’argent sans beaucoup plus.

Deux points intéressants cependant dans le discours lorsque la ministre a rappelé d’une part, que si la richesse est mondiale, le bien-être est nationale et que chaque pays dispose d’une assiette fiscale pour s’occuper des 99% qui ne font pas partie de l’élite financière. Et d’autre part, qu’une démocratie ne doit pas hésiter à admettre ses fautes et à les amender car cela ne la discrédite pas, au contraire – une allusion à la Réconciliation avec les Premières Nations de son premier ministre et du Parti libéral.

‘Deux points intéressants cependant dans le discours lorsque la ministre a rappelé d’une part, que si la richesse est mondiale, le bien-être est nationale…’

La ministre Chrystia Freeland avait d’ailleurs débuté son allocution avec ces mots : « Je voudrais commencer en soulignant que les terres sur lesquelles nous sommes réunis font partie du territoire traditionnel non cédé des Kanien’keha:ka (dénommés également Mohawks), qui a longtemps servi de lieu de rassemblement et d’échange entre nations. »

Chrystia Freeland - WestmountMag.ca

Interviewée par Mme Michèle Boisvert, ex-journaliste, Mme Freeland a clairement démontré sa profonde connaissance du dossier de l’ALENA. Elle a fait remarquer combien le gouvernement Trudeau était préparé à toutes les éventualités et que la réponse canadienne à l’imposition de tarifs par l’administration américaine était immédiate, précise et complète.

La ministre a rassuré l’auditoire que les canaux de communications étaient ouverts et qu’elle continuait ses discussions avec ses correspondants américains, incluant le Secrétaire d’état, M. Mike Pompeo. Bref, son été est bien planifié pour négocier l’ALENA, dont neuf (9) chapitres sont déjà réglés.

‘Elle a fait remarquer combien le gouvernement Trudeau était préparé à toutes les éventualités et que la réponse canadienne à l’imposition de tarifs par l’administration américaine était immédiate, précise et complète.’

Comme beaucoup de politiciens, la ministre Chrystia Freeland parle avec prudence. Elle sait vendre son parti, sa philosophie et son chef. Si elle ne s’aventure pas beaucoup, on perçoit néanmoins que sa connaissance des dossiers est profonde et que sa vision est solidement établie.

Button Sign up to newsletter – WestmountMag.caImages : Sylvie-Ann Paré

Lire aussi : Une nouvelle mondialisation: Gérer l’incertitude


jean-luc_burlone

Jean-Luc Burlone, Ms. Sc. Economie, FCSI (1996)
Analyse économique et Stratégie financière
jlb@jlburlone.com

Le texte ci-dessus exprime mon opinion suite au déjeuner-causerie CORIM du 20 juin 2018. – JLB

Fellow de l’Institut canadien des valeurs mobilières (FCSI), Jean-Luc Burlone a une excellente connaissance de la gestion des produits financiers et il détient une maîtrise en économie de l’Université de Montréal avec une double spécialisation en économie du développement et en économie internationale – finance et commerce.


LinenChest.com



Il n'y a aucun commentaire

Ajouter le vôtre

Logo WestmountMag.ca


Sign-up to WestmountMag.ca’s newsletter and get regular email notification of our latest articles.

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre de WestmountMag.ca pour recevoir régulièrement par courriel la liste des articles les plus récents.

chrystia-freeland_westmountmag

Chrystia Freeland on
Canada in a Changing World

Canada’s Minister of Foreign Affairs speaks at CORIM luncheon

By Jean-Luc Burlone

To an audience of 450 people conquered beforehand, Minister Chrystia Freeland was up to her reputation. In very good French she reviewed the main issues we should all seriously consider to maintain the multilateral system, which has served the world so well for the last 70 years.

Chrystia Freeland - WestmountMag.caIn a nutshell: she summarized these issues by classifying them in two categories, namely the threat that the resurgence of authoritarianism poses to liberal democracy and the weakening of the rules-based international order.

On authoritarianism, Ms. Freeland noted the rise of anti-democratic movements seeking to undermine liberal democracies by blaming immigrants and trading partners. She mentioned technology and globalization as the causes that led to the impoverishment of the middle class, which renders the democratic terrain fertile for demagogues.

With respect to the international order, Ms. Freeland suggested giving trade agreements rules that bite as Canada and Europe did in their recent agreement and so, should it be noted, by the World Trade Organization to answer 2018 concerns. Tougher rules were already implemented by the late TransPacific Partnership and its new version minus the United States.

… she reviewed the main issues we should all seriously consider to maintain the multilateral system, which has served the world so well for the last 70 years.

Nothing is really new in all this. A simplification that neglects to recall that among the 70 past years, 50 were the cold war era where the West strove to demonstrate to the world that its liberal regime brought a better life to its people than the authoritarian Soviet regime. A fight of ideologies won by the West when the Berlin Wall fell. Without an ideology to fight, the West went for a wealth rush; a take the money and run kind of philosophy without much more substance.

Nonetheless, the minister reminded us of two interesting points. On the one hand, wealth is global while people’s welfare is a national issue. Each country has a tax base to take care of the 99% of the population. On the other hand, it is to the credit of a democracy to recognize its mistakes openly and to correct them, a subtle praise for the government’s gesture towards Canadian First Nations.

‘… the minister reminded us of two interesting points. On the one hand, wealth is global while people’s welfare is a national issue.’

In fact, Minister Chrystia Freeland began her speech with a tribute: “I would like to begin by pointing out that the land on which we are gathered are part of the unceded traditional territory of the Kanien’keha:ka (also called Mohawks), who has long served as a place of gathering and exchange between nations”.

Chrystia Freeland - WestmountMag.ca

Interviewed by Ms. Michèle Boisvert, a former journalist, Ms. Freeland demonstrated her profound knowledge of the NAFTA file. She also made the audience aware of the government readiness, as its response to the American tariffs was immediate, accurate and comprehensive with a thoughtful list of American products that were to be targeted with tariffs.

The Minister made it clear that all communication channels with the Americans remain open and that she had regular discussions with various US counterparts, including the Secretary of State, Mr. Mike Pompeo. In short, her agenda for the summer was filled with NAFTA negotiations, of which nine (9) chapters were already settled.

‘She also made the audience aware of the government readiness, as its response to the American tariffs was immediate, accurate and comprehensive…’

Like many politicians, Minister Chrystia Freeland speaks with caution. She knows how to sell her party, her philosophy and her boss. Although she does not venture out much, her knowledge of the files is deep and her vision is firmly established.

Bouton S'inscrire à l'infolettre – WestmountMag.caImages: Sylvie-Ann Paré

Read also: Speed and failure improve productivity and growth


jean-luc_burlone

Jean-Luc Burlone, Ms. Sc. Economy, FCSI (1996)
Economic Analysis – Financial Strategies
jlb@jlburlone.com

The text above expresses my opinion based on the June 20 CORIM conference. – JLB

Fellow of the Canadian Securities Institute (FCSI), Jean-Luc Burlone has an excellent knowledge of financial product management and holds a Master’s degree in economics from the Université de Montréal with a dual specialization in development economics and International economy – finance and trade.


15% off East and Southeast Asia



There is 1 comment

Add yours
  1. Anne Streeter

    I think we have to curb our enthusiasm for Minister Freeland. Much is beginning to surface about her nationalistic fervor for all things Ukrainian and her over the top dislike for all things Russian. As well, it is now common knowledge that her maternal grandfather was a high level Nazi collaborator during the second world war. Although Ms Freeland is not responsible for the sins of her grandfather, she is at fault for covering it up (Rabble.ca). Ms Freeland is a staunch supporter of Ukraine today, in spite of the fact that it was the subject of a CIA supported coup in 2014. It is presently a Neo Nazi puppet state and one of the most corrupt countries in the world. How strange that Canada supports Ukraine while not talking to Russia.

    One wonders why Ms Freeland was chosen for Minister of Global Affairs. She is essentially our top diplomat. Apart from not talking to Russia (she is banned from the country) she and Justin Trudeau have imposed sanctions on Venezuela, sold military hardware to countries with deplorable human rights issues and have an embarrassing voting record on the Palestinian/Israeli situation . This is not my idea of Sunny Ways!


Post a new comment

Logo WestmountMag.ca


Sign-up to WestmountMag.ca’s newsletter and get regular email notification of our latest articles.

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre de WestmountMag.ca pour recevoir régulièrement par courriel la liste des articles les plus récents.