hunting_westmountmag

Priver les enfants de leur innocence

Le fait de justifier la prise d’une vie est la première étape d’un processus de dévalorisation de la vie en général

Par Georges R. Dupras

On pouvait lire récemment que la Duchesse de Cambridge a accompagné le jeune prince George à sa première partie de chasse aux faisans.

Voici un enfant effervescent, heureux et insouciant, innocent et aucunement au courant des enjeux compliqués de la vie. À un âge où il apprend comment se comporter en société, il est également conditionné à une façon de penser. Je fais référence ici au développement d’une mentalité. Trop souvent, au cours de ces premières années formatives, l’enfant est dépouillé de ces caractéristiques que nous admirons tellement.

Le sourire empressé et l’enthousiasme impatient dans l’attente du Père Noël la veille de Noël, ou peut-être l’anticipation de Pâques pour cette importante chasse aux œufs, sont rapidement perdus. Après tout, les enfants doivent apprendre les réalités de la vie et l’innocence du garçon doit être remplacée par l’obligation inhérente de devenir un homme.

Nous sommes tous doués, à un degré ou à un autre, que ce soit avec une intelligence supérieure à la moyenne, ou dans le domaine artistique, en athlétisme, ou pour certains, avec un instinct pour les affaires ou en débrouillardise.

Qu’est-ce que la sensibilité ? Est-ce un don ou une malédiction ? Les personnes qui sont sensibles, un trait enraciné dans la compassion, peuvent difficilement trouver le bonheur, et certainement pas dans le monde actuel. Pensons aux enfants qui ont perdu leur innocence et qui ont été désensibilisés à travers un conditionnement.

Le fait d’exposer un enfant à une tuerie dans le cadre d’une activité qui tolère la violence, et surtout durant laquelle les participants prennent plaisir à tuer, n’est qu’un abus de mineur.

Je suis d’avis d’ailleurs, comme d’autres, qu’il y a trois éléments que l’on doit toujours respecter chez l’humain, la dignité, la foi, et la sensibilité, car ils sont l’essence même de la personne.

La vie est pleine de difficultés, et le désillusionnement arrive assez vite. Il n’y a aucune raison valable d’introduire les réalités de notre monde à un jeune esprit libre avant qu’il n’ait acquis la compréhension pour poser des questions et contester les raisons données. Qui sommes-nous ? Quel est notre rôle ? Comprendre ce qui nous définit en tant qu’individu constitue le travail d’une vie entière. Et nous n’aurons peut-être jamais la réponse. Le fait d’exposer un enfant à une tuerie dans le cadre d’une activité qui tolère la violence, et surtout durant laquelle les participants prennent plaisir à tuer, n’est qu’un abus de mineur. Le fait de justifier la prise d’une vie, qu’elle soit humaine ou animale, est la première étape d’un processus de dévalorisation de la vie en général.

La maltraitance prend plusieurs formes : l’abus physique, la négligence, l’abus émotionnel ou par conditionnement. Le fait de désensibiliser un enfant en l’exposant à la violence, et surtout au plaisir que certaines personnes prennent à travers la violence et la tuerie, est honteux.

Les raisons

Les faisans ne sont pas originaires du Royaume-Uni. Ils ont été importés comme nourriture et comme espèces de gibier par des enthousiastes de la chasse. Leur nombre augmente, mais ceci est le résultat d’une planification délibérée. Ce sont les mêmes mentalités qui font la chasse aux sangliers dans des enclos fermés en France, et qui se disent écologistes et défenseurs de l’environnement.

‘Maintenant on nous dit anti riches. Est-ce possible que nous soyons tout simplement anti cruauté ?’

Des passe-temps dit traditionnels sont souvent utilisés pour justifier des pratiques qui ne sont plus acceptables et qui ne font plus partie de nos valeurs sociales. Si nous aimons nos traditions, il nous incombe de repenser, de réinventer, ou de discontinuer celles qui sont sujet à controverse. Au cours des années, ceux qui ont exprimé leurs préoccupations concernant le trappage, les rodéos, les cirques, les combats de taureaux, les pratiques d’abatage, incluant l’abatage Kosher et Halal, ont été accusé d’être anti indigènes, anti pauvres, anti sémites, anti musulmans. Maintenant on nous dit anti riches. Est-ce possible que nous soyons tout simplement anti cruauté ?

Quelle tristesse de penser qu’en 2019, certaines personnes prennent encore grand plaisir à enlever des vies, à tuer, à dévaluer la vie, et pire encore, à priver les enfants de leur innocence.

Image : California Department of Fish and Wildlife via StockPholio.net

Button Sign up to newsletter – WestmountMag.ca

À lire aussi : Croissance économique et politique : mélange dangereux


Georges Dupras

Pendant plus de 50 ans, Georges R. Dupras se fait le champion et le défenseur des animaux. Il est membre de l’International Association for Bear Research and Management (IBA), un directeur de l’Alliance pour les animaux du Canada (AAC), le représentant au Québec de Zoocheck Canada, et un ancien directeur de la Société canadienne pour la prévention de la cruauté envers les animaux (CSPCA). En 1966, il s’est impliqué dans la campagne initiale pour sauver les phoques qui a mené à la fondation de l’International Fund for Animal Welfare (IFAW) en 1969. Il a publié deux livres : Values in Conflict et Ethics, A Human Condition. Georges demeure à Montréal, Québec, Canada.


LinenChest.com



1 commentaire trouvé

Ajouter le vôtre
  1. Patricia Dumais

    Les enfants aiment et font confiance à leurs parents et comptent sur leur jugement jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient assez vieux pour penser par eux-mêmes. De nombreuses familles considèrent la chasse et le piégeage une activité normale, car elles les pratiquent depuis des générations. Dans le passé, la chasse et le piégeage avaient un objectif de survie, mais ce n’est plus le cas. Ceux qui exercent cette activité le font uniquement à des fins de divertissement et cela devrait être remis en question. La duchesse de Cambridge m’impressionnerait beaucoup plus si elle emmenait Prince George observer les oiseaux au lieu de tirer sur des faisans.


Laisser un nouveau commentaire

Logo WestmountMag.ca


Sign-up to WestmountMag.ca’s newsletter and get regular email notification of our latest articles.

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre de WestmountMag.ca pour recevoir régulièrement par courriel la liste des articles les plus récents.

hunting_westmountmag

Robbing children of their innocence

Rationalizing the taking of a life is the first step in condoning violence and lessening the value of all life

By Georges R. Dupras

I read recently where Prince George was taken to his first pheasant shoot by his mother, the Duchess of Cambridge.

My personal image of the young prince is that of a carefree, happy, effervescent child, innocent in the ways of the world. At an age where he is learning the social skills, he is also being conditioned to a way of thinking. I’m talking about the development of a mindset. Often enough, during these formative years, the attributes we most admire in youthful innocence are stripped away as part of this first passage in life.

The eager smile and restless enthusiasm of waiting for Santa Claus on Christmas Eve, or perhaps the anticipated arrival of the Easter Bunny for that all-important egg hunt, are soon washed away. Children, after all, must learn the realities of life; the boy must be made a man.

We’re all gifted to one degree or other, some with above-average intelligence, some in the arts or athletics, and others with survival instincts, business smarts, street smarts, etc.

What of sensitivity? Is that a gift or a curse? People who are overly sensitive, a trait rooted in compassion, can hardly be happy, certainly not in this world. What of children, already disillusioned through the loss of innocence, and now desensitized as a matter of course through conditioning?

Being exposed to the act of killing, and more importantly, the enjoyment in taking part in such an activity, is no less than emotional child abuse.

I’m of that school that believes that there are three things you never take from another person: their dignity, their faith and their sensitivity. To strip them of any of these is to deny one or more of the fundamental attributes that defines them.

Life is hard, and disillusionment will come soon enough. There is no reason to introduce a young free spirit to the realities of our world before he is old enough to question the why, and more importantly, to challenge the rationale. It takes a lifetime, if ever, to understand who we are, what defines us as individuals and how we fit in, if at all. Being exposed to the act of killing, and more importantly, the enjoyment in taking part in such an activity, is no less than emotional child abuse. To rationalize the taking of a life, any life, is the first step in condoning violence and lessening the value of all life.

Child abuse takes many forms: physical, emotional and through conditioning to name but three. To de-sensitize an innocent spirit through the personal enjoyment found in violence and killing is unconscionable.

The rationale

Pheasants are not native to the UK but were imported as a food and game species by hunting enthusiasts. Their numbers do increase – but this is by design. It is encouraged by the same mindsets that take part in canned hunts, then try and tell you that they are conservationists.

‘Today we are charged with being anti-rich. No one has simply said, “Perhaps they’re just anti-cruelty.’

Traditional pursuits are often used to justify practices that are no longer a part of our social values. If we cherish our traditions, it behoves us to re-think, re-invent, or discontinue some of the more controversial ones. Over the years, those of us who have expressed concern over trapping, rodeos, circuses, bullfighting, slaughter practices including Halal and Kosher, have been accused of being anti-native, anti-poor, anti-Semitic, anti-Muslim. Today we are charged with being anti-rich. No one has simply said, “Perhaps they’re just anti-cruelty”.

How sad that in 2019, there are those who still find pleasure in killing, in de-valuing life, and of robbing children of their innocence.

Image: California Department of Fish and Wildlife via StockPholio.net

Bouton S'inscrire à l'infolettre – WestmountMag.ca

Read also: Economic growth and politics: A deadly combination


Georges Dupras

Georges R. Dupras has advocated for animals for over fifty years. A member of the International Association for Bear Research and Management (IBA), a Director of the Animal Alliance of Canada (AAC), Quebec Representative of Zoocheck Canada and past Board member of the Canadian SPCA, he worked on the original Save the Seal campaign in 1966 that culminated in the founding of the International Fund for Animal Welfare (IFAW) in 1969. Georges Dupras has published two books, Values in Conflict and the eBook Ethics, a Human Condition, and currently lives in Montreal, Canada.


Vegan Food Trips



There are 5 comments

Add yours
  1. Vicki Van Linden

    I agree completely with the writer in his assessment of how desensitizing children to the killing of animals harms them. Teaching children to take delight in seeing an animal die violently is contrary to healthy emotional development. Children enjoy spending time with adults, learning skills and being nurtured. None of this necessitates teaching a child to find pleasure or pride in killing other living beings. Find some other activity to engage in with children that does not teach them to enjoy killing.

  2. Doris Potter

    I can still remember at around the age of six, asking my mother if the red liquid I saw in the package of meat that she was buying, was blood. She said it was “juice”. I had to accept this but it nagged at me. Finally, at age fourteen, after seeing film footage of cattle having their throats cut on the meat processing line, I became a vegetarian. Parents think they are doing what is best for their children by shielding them, or worse, de-sensitizing them (to “toughen them up”) but sensitivity and compassion are qualities to encourage. Our society will be the better for it.

  3. Jean Le Marquand

    I agree with G. Dupras that exposing young children to killing of animals (and this includes ritualistic slaughter as well as hunting), de-sensitizes a child and teaches him or her that empathy for the non-human animal is not worth considering. It is cringe-worthy when I read of a young member of a 4-H club, who after caring for a particular calf, for example, has to turn the animal over for slaughter. How can we expect to nurture compassion for our own species when we so blatantly suppress it in children?

  4. Paola Paolo

    Thank you for this article. Very well put. Cruelty and violence are normalized when children are taught to hunt and kill. I think of 4-H where a child raises and loves an animal only to realize at the end, that the animal they have connected with is to be slaughtered. And money is handed to the child at that time – violence, and cruelty are normalized and being insensitive is rewarded through money.

  5. Patricia Dumais

    Children love and trust their parents and rely on their judgement until they are old enough to think for themselves. Many families think nothing of hunting and trapping as it is something that they have practiced for generations. While in the past hunting and trapping served a purpose for survival it no longer does. Those who pursue the activity do it solely for entertainment and this should be questioned. I would be far more impressed with the Duchess of Cambridge if she took Prince George birdwatching instead of to a pheasant shoot.


Post a new comment

Logo WestmountMag.ca


Sign-up to WestmountMag.ca’s newsletter and get regular email notification of our latest articles.

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre de WestmountMag.ca pour recevoir régulièrement par courriel la liste des articles les plus récents.