train-caisse-rem_westmountmag

Le REM :
Un autre stade olympique ?

Les coûts réels du Réseau express métropolitain

Par Patrick Barnard
Traduit de l’anglais par Louise Legault

On a décrit le Réseau express métropolitain (REM) comme étant le plus important projet de transport public à Montréal depuis 50 ans, une « nouvelle ère de grands projets » associés à la mobilité, selon le premier ministre Philippe Couillard lors de l’inauguration de ce projet de 6,3 milliards $ le 8 février dernier.

Voilà pour le battage entourant le système de « Skytrain » de 67 kilomètres de la région montréalaise. Malheureusement, la réalité est toute autre, le REM représentant un abus des fonds publics pour un mégaprojet dont les ramifications commencent déjà à se faire sentir.

Le projet du REM ne tient pas du système de métro futuriste d’Expo 67, mais ressemble plutôt à la construction du stade olympique qui a laissé deux générations de Montréalais croulant sous les dettes.

La Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (CDPQ), le bas de laine des Québécois, a vendu cette modernisation des réseaux de transport public de Montréal à travers sa filiale d’infrastructure CDPQ Infra.

Les paliers fédéral et provincial y vont chacun de 1 283 milliards $ qui s’ajoutent aux 2,95 milliards $ consentis par la Caisse. Montréal a promis pour sa part 100 millions $ et l’Autorité régionale de transport métropolitain (ARTM) versera 512 millions $.

Le projet du REM ne tient pas du système de métro futuriste d’Expo 67, mais ressemble plutôt à la construction du stade olympique qui a laissé deux générations de Montréalais croulant sous les dettes.

Toutes ces sommes proviennent de fonds publics, qu’il s’agisse de cotisations au régime de retraite ou de taxes. Sous son site Web, CDPQ Infra énonce cependant que « les projets d’infrastructures confiés à CDPQ Infra ne figureront pas sur le bilan du gouvernement ». Un tel énoncé laisse suggérer qu’un projet comme le REM sera rentable et ne coutera pas un sou au gouvernement.

Pour les administrations Couillard et Trudeau donc, le REM n’apparaitrait pas dans le « bilan du gouvernement », alors qu’en fait le REM dépend depuis sa tendre enfance d’importants investissements publics et continuera de le faire tout au long de sa vie utile.

De plus, la règlementation et les ententes garantissent à la Caisse un rendement annuel de 8 % sur son investissement, avec l’option dans cinq ans de vendre tout le système à un acheteur local ou étranger. Le 19 janvier 2017, le Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE) a publié un rapport exhaustif très critique à l’égard du REM. Les commissaires ne pouvaient recommander le projet faute de réponses « notamment sur les aspects financiers, écologiques, de justification en matière de fréquentations, d’impact sur l’aménagement du territoire et de gouvernance ». (BAPE Conclusion : Projet de réseau électrique métropolitain de transport collectif, pp. 212-217 )

REM station - WestmountMag.ca

Les stations du REM exigent en plus de grandes quantités de béton dont la production génère d’importantes émissions de gaz à effet de serre

Le BAPE soulignait que l’actuel réseau de transport public de Montréal avait « une mission de service public » et ne comportait pas d’obligation à produire « de rendement financier » alors que « leur financement est d’abord assuré par l’État québécois et par les municipalités ».

Le premier ministre Couillard a insisté immédiatement sur le fait que le rapport du BAPE ne pouvait « absolument pas » arrêter le REM, et le maire Coderre de Montréal a encensé le projet et appelé à une fin rapide des travaux. Ces deux politiciens n’ont nullement tenu compte de l’énoncé du BAPE qui, n’ayant pas accès aux données sur les revenus et les couts, jugeait qu’« il subsistait encore beaucoup d’inconnus concernant les aspects économiques et financiers du projet, qu’il s’agisse du rendement espéré de la Caisse ou de l’intégration tarifaire ».

Les trois principales préoccupations entourant le REM sont : les couts réels, l’impact négatif du projet sur les réseaux existants et ses effets à long terme.

Couts réels

Luc Gagnon et Jean-François Lefebvre, deux importants critiques du REM, évaluent que les dépenses en immobilisations initiales réelles atteindront 8 milliards $ et qu’il en nécessitera 2 milliards $ de plus pour les acquisitions, le tunnel Deux-Montagnes, par exemple. Patrick Bergeron de la Presse canadienne a obtenu un document confidentiel sur l’achalandage et rapporte que « Les contribuables pourraient devoir payer plus de 11 milliards à la Caisse de dépôt et placement pour son Réseau express métropolitain (REM), au cours des 20 prochaines années » (REM : les contribuables pourraient devoir payer plus de 11 milliards, La Presse, 16 avril 2018). Les dernières ententes publiées le 23 avril indiquent que l’ARTM devra payer 72 cents par passager/kilomètre – une subvention de taille à la Caisse.

‘… la Caisse avait choisi la technologie en hauteur « Skytrain » pour le REM, l’option la plus dispendieuse qui coute trois fois plus que de construire au sol.’

Additionnez tous ces couts et vous obtenez un projet qui sera trois fois plus dispendieux pour la prochaine génération que le montant initial prévu de 6 milliards $.

MM. Gagnon et Lefebvre ont souligné à maintes reprises que la Caisse avait choisi la technologie en hauteur « Skytrain » pour le REM, l’option la plus dispendieuse qui coute trois fois plus que de construire au sol. Les stations du REM exigent en plus de grandes quantités de béton dont la production génère d’importantes émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Impact sur les systèmes de transport existants

Les Montréalais subissent déjà l’impact du REM avec une réduction de 25 % du service sur le trajet Deux-Montagnes. En 2020, ce circuit sera complètement fermé pendant deux ans, trois ans pour ceux qui utilisent la station Deux-Montagnes. Puisque le REM détient un monopole sur ses stations, il sera à même de retirer légalement des services alternatifs comme l’autobus. De plus, le trajet particulier du REM ne dessert pas de grands pans de la ville, tout l’est de la ville en fait, non plus que NDG ou Lachine. La boucle nord vers l’aéroport fait en sorte que la population de NDG, par exemple, devra passer par le centre de la ville pour accéder au REM vers l’aéroport Trudeau. Et l’ironie dans tout cela, comme en conclut le BAPE, c’est qu’ « à peine 10 % des usagers du REM proviendraient d’automobilistes qui délaisseraient la voiture ». Pis encore, les grands stationnements incitatifs conçus pour les stations du REM ne feront qu’encourager l’utilisation de l’automobile, que ce soit pour accéder au système ou – plus certainement – le contourner complètement.

carte REM francais - WestmountMag.ca

Carte du réseau REM – Cliquer pour agrandir l’image

Effets à long terme

Le REM, sans aucun contrôle politique, pourrait à long terme mettre à mal le système de transport de Montréal, sa planification urbaine et l’ARTM. La loi 137 de l’Assemblée nationale du 27 septembre 2017 prévoit que le « droit » d’expropriation de la Caisse et de CDPQ Infra « ne peut être contesté » et que les ententes contractuelles entre la Caisse et l’ARTM n’ont pas à être approuvées par la Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal. En ce qui a trait à « diverses dispositions concernant la fiscalité municipale », le REM « et son exploitant n’y sont pas assujettis ». Pas étonnant donc que certaines municipalités – Laval et Longueuil notamment – se montrent préoccupées quoiqu’elles aient été assurées que leurs contributions au REM demeureraient modestes.

‘Le REM, sans aucun contrôle politique, pourrait à long terme mettre à mal le système de transport de Montréal, sa planification urbaine et l’ARTM.’

Dans un article publié en 2016, le professeur adjoint d’urbanisme à l’Université McGill Ahmed M. El Geneidy (Caisse to charge new regional transit body for operating costs, Jason Magder, Gazette, 11 décembre 2016) avait prévu que de payer la Caisse pour gérer un service de transport public en faisant un profit entrainerait un important déficit pour le gouvernement… autrement dit, la Caisse mise 3,1 milliards $ aujourd’hui et engrangera les profits à l’avenir dans les poches de nos enfants sur les titres de transport, mais cela ne suffira pas à défrayer le cout des opérations. L’ARTM affichera donc un énorme déficit pour les 20 prochaines années afin de rembourser ces 3 milliards $. Ce sera tout comme les Olympiques, disait-il, alors que nous avons flambé beaucoup d’argent et accumulé les prêts, ce qui nous a empêchés de lancer de grands projets, car notre niveau d’endettement était trop élevé.

J’ai récemment communiqué avec le professeur El Geneidy qui m’a référé à ce qu’il avait dit dans la Gazette il y a 18 mois… et malheureusement, j’ai bien l’impression que ses dires sont encore plus vrais aujourd’hui.

Button Sign up to newsletter – WestmountMag.caImages : REM
Lire aussi : La question d’une deuxième piscine


Patrick Barnard - WestmountMag.ca

Patrick Barnard est membre du conseil d’administration de la Coalition verte, un groupe environnemental non partisan à Montréal. Il est également rédacteur en chef du blog vidéo The Pimento report/Le Piment et journaliste indépendant. Il a travaillé par le passé pour CBC Radio, Radio Netherlands et Dawson College où il a enseigné la littérature anglaise. Il est également l’un des 20 environnementalistes et experts du transport qui ont signé une lettre ouverte à Montréal demandant la fin du REM.

LinenChest.com



Il n'y a aucun commentaire

Ajouter le vôtre

Logo WestmountMag.ca


Sign-up to WestmountMag.ca’s newsletter and get regular email notification of our latest articles.

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre de WestmountMag.ca pour recevoir régulièrement par courriel la liste des articles les plus récents.

train-caisse-rem_westmountmag

The REM:
Another Olympic Stadium?

The real cost of the Réseau express métropolitain

By Patrick Barnard

The Réseau express métropolitain (REM) has been described as the most important Montreal transport initiative in 50 years, a “new era of big projects associated with mobility,” in the words of Premier Philippe Couillard when he inaugurated the $6.3 billion dollar scheme on February 8.

That is the glowing vision of the 67- kilometer “Skytrain” system in the Montreal region. Unfortunately, the reality is that the REM represents a gross misuse of public money for a mega-project whose harmful ramifications are already becoming visible.

What the REM most resembles is not the sleek metro system for Expo 67, but the construction of the Olympic stadium that left two generations of Montrealers with a longstanding debt burden.

Quebec’s massive public pension fund, the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (CDPQ), has promoted this makeover of Montreal’s transit networks through its infrastructure subsidiary, CDPQ Infra.

The federal and provincial governments are each putting in $1.283 billion to add to the $2.95 billion coming from the Caisse. Montreal has promised $100 million, and the Autorité régionale de transport métropolitain (ARTM) – the Metropolitan Regional Transportation Authority – will contribute $512 million dollars.

What the REM most resembles is not the sleek metro system for Expo 67, but the construction of the Olympic stadium that left two generations of Montrealers with a longstanding debt burden.

All this expenditure consists of public money coming from pension contributions and taxes. But the CDPQ Infra, on its own website, states that “projects entrusted to CDPQ Infra will be excluded from the governments’ balance sheet”. This claim strongly suggests that a project such as the REM will pay for itself without costing a government anything.

So, for the Couillard and Trudeau cabinets, the REM seems not to appear in “the governments’ balance sheets,” but the truth is that, at its birth and throughout its life, the REM depends on and will continue to depend on large, constant amounts of public money.

At the same time the enabling legislation and agreements guarantee the Caisse an 8% annual return on its investment, with the option in five years to sell the whole REM system to a domestic or foreign buyer.

On January 19, 2017 the Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE) released an expert, comprehensive report that was extremely critical of the REM. The commissioners could not recommend the project without answers, which they were unable to get, “especially on the financial aspects, ecological ones, the justification in terms of frequency of use, the impact on the management of the region, and of governance”. (BAPE Conclusion: Projet de réseau électrique métropolitain de transport collectif, pp. 212-217)

REM station - WestmountMag.ca

The suspended stations of the REM require vast amounts of concrete whose production creates large greenhouse gas emissions.

The BAPE Commission concluded that Montreal’s current network of public transport has “a mission of public service” and is not placed under a requirement to produce “a financial return” while “its financing is above all supplied by the Quebec state and its municipalities”.

Immediately, Premier Couillard insisted that the BAPE report would “absolutely not” stop the REM, and Mayor Coderre in Montreal said that the REM was “extraordinary” and “has to be finished quickly”. Both leaders disregarded the BAPE’s statement that it did not have access to data about revenues and costs, and that “there still remain a lot of unknowns concerning the economic and financial aspects of the project, whether it concerns the profit expected by the Caisse or the integration of ticket costs”.

Three major concerns loom large: real costs, negative impacts on existing transport, and long-term effects.

Real costs

Luc Gagnon and Jean-François Lefebvre, two prominent critics of the REM, estimate its real initial capital costs at $8 billion dollars, and $2 billon more if one includes acquisitions, such as the two-mountains tunnel. Patrick Bergeron of Canadian Press obtained a confidential document about future ridership and reported that “tax-payers might well have to pay more than $11 billion dollars” for the REM in the next 20 years (REM: les contribuables pourraient devoir payer plus de 11 milliards, La Presse, April 16, 2018). The latest agreements made public on April 23 indicate that the ARTM will have to pay 72 cents per passenger/ kilometre – essentially a very substantial subsidy to the Caisse.

‘… the Caisse chose the elevated ‘Skytrain’ technology for the REM, the most expensive option that costs three times as much to construct as the on-ground alternative.’

Put all these various costs together and you get a project that will be three times as expensive for the next generation as its starting amount of $6 billion.

Gagnon and Lefebvre have repeatedly pointed out that the Caisse chose the elevated “Skytrain” technology for the REM, the most expensive option that costs three times as much to construct as the on-ground alternative. The suspended stations of the REM also require vast amounts of concrete whose production creates large greenhouse gas emissions.

Impact on existing transport systems

Montrealers already see the impact of the REM with the 25% suspension of service on the two-mountains line. In 2020 that line will cease operating completely for two years, and for three years for those who use the two-mountains station. Because the REM has monopoly rights surrounding its stations, it will be legally able to compel cessation of alternatives, such as busses. Also, the idiosyncratic trajectory of the REM leaves out whole areas of Montreal: the East End, NDG, Lachine. The wandering loop via the north to the airport, means that NDGers, for example, will have to travel downtown first in order to take the REM to Trudeau airport. And the irony of all this is that, as the BAPE concluded, “barely 10% of the REM users will come from auto-users who will stop using their cars”. If anything, the large catchment parking lots designed for REM stations will only encourage car use, either to get to the system or – more likely – to avoid it altogether.

REM map - WestmountMag.ca

Map of the REM – Click for larger image

Long-term effects

Over the long term the REM, if left without any political control, could wreck havoc on Montreal’s transport system, its urban development, and the ARTM. Law 137 of the National Assembly (September 27, 2017) indicates that the “right” of the Caisse and CDPQ infra to expropriate “cannot be contested” (ne peut être contesté) and that the contractual agreements between the Caisse and ARTM “do not have to be approved by the Montreal Metropolitan Community”. As far as “various dispositions of municipal taxation are concerned” the REM “and its exploiter are not subject to them”. Little wonder that there is deep anxiety among various municipalities – such as Laval and Longueuil – even though they have been assured that their future cash contribution to the REM will be modest.

‘Over the long term the REM, if left without any political control, could wreck havoc on Montreal’s transport system, its urban development, and the ARTM.’

In prophetic remarks made in 2016, associate McGill professor of Urban Planning, Ahmed M. El Geneidy (Caisse to charge new regional transit body for operating costs, Jason Magder, Gazette, December 11, 2016) said paying the Caisse to run a transit service and reap a profit “will add a huge deficit to the government… In other words, they (the Caisse) are putting in $3.1 billion now, and they are going to collect the money with profit down the road from our children and from us through tickets, but those tickets won’t cover the cost of operations. So the (ARTM) will have a huge deficit for the next 20 years to pay back this $3 billion. It will be just like the Olympics, where we wasted a lot of money and got a lot of loans and because of that we couldn’t make any big projects because we were in such a big debt”.

Recently, I phoned Prof. El Geneidy and he referred me to what he said to the Gazette 18 months ago… and, unhappily, I personally believe that his words ring true even more today.

Images: REM

Bouton S'inscrire à l'infolettre – WestmountMag.caRead also: Westmount: The question of a second swimming pool


Patrick Barnard - WestmountMag.ca

Patrick Barnard is a board member of the Green Coalition, a non-partisan environmental group in Montreal. He is also the editor of the video blog The Pimento report/Le Piment and a free-lance journalist. He has worked in the past for CBC Radio, Radio Netherlands, and Dawson College where he taught English Literature. He is also one of 20 environmentalists and transit experts who signed an open letter in Montreal asking an end to the REM.


Linen Chest



There are 2 comments

Add yours
  1. Ron Goes

    Actually the costs are much higher than what has been stated here when you include the ‘external costs’ on the front end, during the construction and the back end that will have to picked up by the various angencies involved. Plus there willl be stranded costs of previous purchases specific for entering the tunnel like the bi-levels, dual-mode locs and the flyover and track work at Montpellier. The project is in cost overun right now and we believe that the actual cost will be in excess of $8billion just on the current program.

  2. Michael Fish

    As if to rub our noses in the mess that the Caisse proposes to give us is the undeniable fact that the REM will not give the same services as those which it will replace. The trips including transfers will be at least twenty percent slower than what exist now on all of its lines. The convenience will be woefully worse. Each four passengers will occupy one square meter in rush hour operation. Half of these people will stand for their trip. More buses will be required to feed the REM for transfers to its trains. Central Station is far from transfer points and sidewalks adding to trip times. The system is a parasite, not needed even if it were given to the region for free. Worst of all the REM is twinned with a savage plan to reignite the injurious urban sprawl which make Montreal an expensive city in which to live. The Caisse will build billions of dollars worth of high rise buildings which they will own far from the centre of the city, putting more cars on more roads, the opposite of which they promise. Montreal has never seen anything like this terrible plan in all of its history. The BAPE by the way said all of these things. They did their job, and so did every independent expert academic and trusted citizens before and since. Our media and the politicians carry the blame. Shame on them…..


Post a new comment

Logo WestmountMag.ca


Sign-up to WestmountMag.ca’s newsletter and get regular email notification of our latest articles.

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre de WestmountMag.ca pour recevoir régulièrement par courriel la liste des articles les plus récents.